Spicy Sausage, Spinach, & Broccoli Bow Tie Pasta

I’m a huge fan of creating meals out of what’s around the house. Why buy new ingredients when you can use what you’ve already paid for? Well, for tonights dinner, I decided to make a pasta dish with a kick. As we all know, vegetables are important and I try and get my servings in each day which can be difficult. I find that sometimes its easiest to add those vegetables directly into the meal you’re making. I also like to add a little bit of meat for that hearty flavor.

This pasta dish was inspired by a meal that I had the night before I graduated college. That night, it was so delicous, but as I looked at it I thoought, “Why couldn’t I make this myself?” So I went home…and made it! Definitely one of my favorite meals to make and is great for an entire family as it makes quite a bit. If not…left-overs are always tasty 🙂

INGREDIENTS

3 cloves garlic

1 yellow onion

1 package spicy sausage

2-3 stalks fresh broccoli (or to taste)

1 box bow-tie pasta

Fresh spinach (to taste)

Olive oil

Sea salt

INSTRUCTIONS

1)          Add water to pot along with olive oil and a small handful of sea salt. Bring to a boil and toss is bow tie pasta. Cook until tender and strain.

2)          Cut up broccoli and steam in microwave until just tender.

3)          Slice onion, chop garlic and grill in a wok with some olive oil to coat for about 5 minutes or until the onions are as cooked as you would like. Toss in the steamed broccoli and bow tie pasta. Keep wok on medium-low heat. Throw in desired amount of spinach and toss to wilt down.

4)          Broil spicy sausage, cut up, and toss into the rest of the ingredients in the wok.

5)          Add your favorite sauce and enjoy!

Now, I chose to try a new sauce tonight instead of the normal marinara sauce. I wanted to play and create a cheesy alfredo. Turned out great but will only be used as a special treat since obviously is not very heathly. But what I loved about it besides its flavor was how little I needed to use for my pasta. A little truly goes a long way!

INGREDIENTS

2-3 tablespoons butter (I used 2)

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups milk (I used skim)

Freshly grated asiago cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

1)          Melt butter in a pan over medium heat and add flour. Stir consistently with a wire whisk.

2)          Add milk and bring to just a boil. Add asiago cheese and whisk in. Continue over medium-low heat until ready to pour over pasta. *** Grate as much asiago cheese as you want to taste. Again, a little goes a long way to take it slowly.

One response

  1. Just made this. It was delish! I made a few adjustments though. I made whole wheat pasta and used chorizo. even the BF likes it! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

