Spinach & Feta Crustless Quiche

I woke up this morning wanting something to do. It’s my first day of 2 days off and for once, I don’t have a list of things that needs to be done! I don’t seem to do well with sitting around and when I get bored a do one of several things: cook, bake, organize, clean, or experiment!

Choosing today to skip my usual breakfast which consists of a bowl of Rice Chex and almond milk, I decided I was in the mood for eggs and more particurly…a quiche. I chose to make a crustless quiche to first, save on some calories and second, I really just didn’t feel like making one from scratch.

So here it is! I didn’t really measure anything out but instead just did it by eye-balling my guesses.

spinach mushroom feta crustless quiche

INGREDIENTS

Non-stick spray

4 large eggs

1 box (10 oz.) frozen spinich OR fresh spinich

1 cup milk

1 ½ cup grated cheese

2 oz. Feta cheese

1/4 cup grated Parmesean cheese

1/2 cup shredded Mozerella cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

1/3 cup bacon bits

INSTRUCTIONS

1)      Spray pie pan with non-stick spray (not too heavily)

2)      Thaw spinich, drain and put on the bottom of the pie pan. I used fresh spinich which I didn’t measure out but instead just tore into little pieces and put as much of as I wanted since I’m a spinich-lover!

3)       Crumble Feta over the spinich and sprinkle desired amount of bacon bits on top.

4)     Whisk 4 eggs together until mostly smooth. Add milk, parmesean cheese, and salt and pepper and whisk again until entirely smooth.

5)      Pour egg mixture over spinach, feta, and bacon into the pie pan.

6)       Sprinkle Mozerella cheese on top.

6)      Bake at 350 for 45-50 min (until knife comes out clean)

7)      Cool 10 minutes before cutting

First things first – you really can’t botch this recipe up because it is almost impossible to make a mistake! You can easily add any other ingredients you want such as mushrooms, garlic, ham, etc. if it so pleases you.

I suggest spraying the pan extremely lightly so the bottom isn’t too runny when it’s done. After mine was done I thought that next time I will add more fresh spinach beacuse it wilts down so much.  Again, I never measured anything but went by my eye and it turned out great. I probably used a little less than 1 cup of milk (more like 3/4 cup) and thought it was perfect.  Feel free to use fresh bacon instead of bacon bits – for me, this morning, it was simply easier. And normally – I choose to skip out on any additional salt unless it’s absolutely necessary – so, I only put pepper in mine.

All in all I thought it turned out wonderful! It was flavorful, light, but filling all at the same time. And it took me a whopping 10 minutes to whip it up! Couldn’t ask for something better.

A great alternative to cereal it was!

Leave a Reply

