Blueberry Oatmeal Supershake

I’ve never in the past posted any recipes to my style blog but I want to make an exception. I tried to think of ways I could connect the 2 together (food and fashion) so as to make it feasible to incorporate into my blog and this is what I came up with – Eating healthy and enjoying delicious food in life only makes us (or most of us) happier; therefore, healthier bodies = healthier mind – and I can’t think of anything more stylish than that.

Moving on, this morning I decided to try one of my breakfast shake recipes that I got from Pinterest. I’m in love with this website and so far, all of the recipes I’ve made that I’ve gotten from Pinterest have worked out great and are delicious! So this morning I pulled out my blender, my ingredients around the house and voilà!

I made my first Blueberry Oatmeal Supershake!  I try to eat healthy most of the time but have found myself slipping especially around the holidays! This is helping me get back on track. If you want to try this at home (and I suggest you do) just do as follows:

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup ice cubes

2 very ripe bananas

4 ounces fresh blueberries, or as many as you’d like

2 tablespoons peanut butter

1/3 cup instant oatmeal/rolled oats

1-1 ½ cups milk

2 tablespoons honey (optional)

2 scoops Blueberry ice cream

INSTRUCTIONS

1)      Place everything in a blender and blitz on high until blended.

That’s it! Simple, right? Well, I made a couple changes to mine. I prefer to drink Almond milk as opposed to cow’s milk. The unsweetened version contains only 35 calories per serving and has double to amount of calcium! I also skipped on the blueberry ice cream because I found it unnecessary and added more blueberries than it called for because I love blueberries! I did add about a tablespoon of honey which as you can see is optional.

Overall, I rate this 4 stars out of 5! It’s quite a substantial breakfast, makes a good 2 servings, and you can definitely taste the oatmeal and peanut butter in it.

Enjoy! If you try it, let me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

