Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas from Seattle!

20111225-155632.jpg

This morning, I was up bright and early with one happy baby Sven. We played and ate some breakfast before he laid back down for a short nap before going to church. Tonya and Peter took me to their local church Mars Hill where I enjoyed a really nice service. I was surprised to see how many young adults were there, some with families and some without, and so many seemed to be active within the service and with each other. I could see why Tonya andPeter enjoy going each week. The message was relevant, meaningful, and easy to listen to and the band sounded great!

20111225-192641.jpg

After church we grabbed some devious Thai food for lunch and came back home to put Sven down for a nap which didn’t seem to go so well. Tonya started to prepare dinner and we Skyped with Mom and Dad again with Tonya and Pete’s new web cam which sits on the mantle next to their 55″ television screen which doubles as their computer. It makes it. It makes it much easier to see everyone while Skyping and to also not temp Sven to crawl over and push the laptop buttons.

Tonya and Peter got me two umbrellas in hopes of a soon move to Seattle for me. They also bought me the book, Vintage Jesus, a book written by Mark Driscoll (the founding pastor of Mars Hill) and Gerry Breshears. It looks to be an interesting read and I’m looking forward to diving into it.

20111225-195738.jpg

Tonya prepared a wonderful spread of prime rib, broccolini, and mashed potatoes with artichoke dip and toasted French bread for our appetizer. Hands down the best mashed potatoes I’ve ever eaten in my life! To top it off we ate chocolate soufflés for dessert along with a small piece of homemade apple pie I made from scratch the other night. Couldn’t have asked for a better meal!

We’re finishing the night trying to find a Christmas movie to watch and relaxing on the couch. All in all, a very enjoyable Christmas. No hype, no hoop-la, just good ole’ fashioned qualityt time spent with family. New tradition? I wouldn’t mind it at all.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!


~ Nichole

Leave a Reply

