Pop Goes the Cherry!

Every time I return to London, my home away from home, I always find it necessary to return to my favorite wine bar as well, located off the Embankment stop, alongside the river Thames.  Upon entering this 102 year old wine bar, you will literally feel as though you are not present in 2012, but back in time surrounded in what appears to be a small, dark cave where the ceiling is only high enough for this 5’6” woman to stand up straight in certain areas.  Because Gordan’s Wine Bar attracts so many locals every day, they have created a long and private area of additional seating outside where you will almost always find me.

Gordan's Wine Bar (Inside)

After ordering our bottles of cabernet sauvignon, my friends and I squeezed into a table next to a couple of local London girls. As I sat my glass of wine down on the table next to one of our new friends, I couldn’t help but notice her beautiful leather handbag and its rich merlot color, almost identical to the shades of red in my cabernet.  As soon as I complimented her bag, we got to talking about how much we love the latest trend of rich reds and cherry colors in everything lately from dresses to tights, to bold lips more women are daring to wear.

What I love about the color red is that absolutely anyone can wear it, maybe shifting the hue a bit to fit each individual properly.  A redhead might choose to wear reds with an orange undertone while brunettes choose reds with blue undertones.

Scarlett Johansson wearing red with an orange undertone,

Penelope Cruz wearing red with a blue undertone.

While reds can be worn by all it can be difficult to pull off at times. To start off play with different shades of red to make sure you’ve found the best one for you.  These should be ones that bring out warmth in your skin color and go well with your hair and eye colors without overshadowing the rest of your appearance.

Red is for the confident individual who isn’t afraid of standing out in a crowd and being noticed.  If you’re not quite positive if that is you or not, that’s ok! Take small steps if you want.  Start by maybe adding a bit of red chunky jewelry to your outfit or wearing a pair of red flats.  Next might be wearing a cherry-hued sweater or skirt but with a safe color such as black or gray.  Once you feel you and red are one, go all out and wear that fabulously bold statement coat, red lipstick, and heels!

Yigal Azrouel Fall/Winter 2010

More often than not I hear women say that they can’t wear red lipstick but wish they could. Well, you can! I was that woman once. Unsure of whether I could actually pull it off, it took me 3 years to find the right shade of red I was happy with. Once I found it, I told myself to wear it out and be proud.  I felt like every eye in the world was on me and my merlot tinted lips but I had to remember that
whether or not those eyes were actually on me, I should be confident and wear my red pout with pride. Since then, I try to convince every woman out there that she too can wear a red lip. It just takes courage.

Sienna Miller

Whichever stage you start from, start adding a bit of red into your closet this fall and holiday season! I know I’ll continue sporting my bold lip as I travel onward to Sweden and Denmark!

Leave a Reply

