London Holiday: Day 2

I woke up Thursday morning a bit sore from all the wine the night before, but as poorly as I felt, I had much more sympathy for Chris, who had to go into work in the early a.m.  I had a few things to do before leaving his flat for the day so I needed to get up and start going. I finished my weekly column for The Herald Argus and sent it in to my editor, showered, dressed, and headed out to Temple tube stop off the river to the Somerset House to see about getting tickets for a free tour.  I was hoping to get tickets for the Saturday tour so Smoker and my cousin, Katie, who would be flying in from Paris Friday night, could go with me.  However, since they don’t give out early tickets, I knew we would just have to come back on Saturday.

Next on the agenda – lunch with Brendan!  Brendan and I met last summer, when I traveled back to London and we were staying at the pub/hostel called the Green Man off Edgeware Rd.  Come to think of it, I’m not exactly sure how we first met or started talking.  Most likely the mutual friends we accumulated while all living out of a suitcase… Anyways, we’ve all seemed to keep in touch since we’ve split from the GM.

I met Brendo off South Kensington tube stop and we walked the streets until we found a restaurant, Byron, that he had heard of and I’d never been to. We both agreed it looked good and went in.  Byron is a burger place – which is nothing exciting – but it has some of the best burgers I have ever tasted!  While chomping down, Bren and I caught up on life, work, friends, etc.  I always enjoy spending time with Brendan because we can talk about anything, laugh at everything, and the jokes seem to be never-ending.  While he continually makes fun of my American accent (he’s Australian – from Melbourne), I tease him over his drama filled life and then envy the fact that he actually has a work visa for the UK and can afford a posh flat in Chelsea!  All in all, Brendan is a 10, and always a good time to be with.

Bren had to return to work so we walked back to the tube and parted ways.  I continued my shopping spree on Oxford St. but didn’t want to spend too much the first two days before doing anything else, so I passed on purchasing and figured I could come back another day if I felt like it.

TopShop @ Oxford Circus

Exhausted, I headed back to Chris’s and waited for him to get home from work.  We decided to try a place close by for dinner.  We both have a love for Greek food so we chose a little restaurant called, As Greek As It Gets, just a few blocks from his flat.  It was a delicious meal and the bottle of wine we shared again wasn’t bad either 🙂

I packed up my things, said goodbye to Chris for the night, and headed off to the tube to go to Smoker’s flat since she had gotten back from her trip to Liverpool and Manchester.  Waiting for the train, a good-looking guy came up to me and asked if he could look at my map…(I have a luggage tag with the tube map on it)…I laughed but told him sure…except it was simply a tag, haha.  He asked if that was an American accent he heard and I told him yes.  There’s really something weird in the water over there that makes guys attracted to American accents.  I do not, what-so-ever, understand it, but could guess that it’s similar to American’s attractions to British or Aussie accents.  We got to chatting and I found out his name was Robin and we just so happened to be going to the same stop.  He asked me the location of my friend’s flat so I showed him my little map I had taped in my moleskin.  I instantly got laughed at for keeping such a detailed notebook!  Sure, you might consider it a bit OCD since I have everything in perfect order from places I want to go, attached with either hand drawn maps or googled maps printed out – but I like it that way! Keeps me organized and situated.  We talked all the way til we rode the escalators up and Smoker was standing there waiting for me.  After exchanging numbers, we decided to meet up the next few nights again for a drink close by.

Finally, Smoker and I headed to her flat, got settled in, met a few of her flatmates, and went to bed after 3 more hours of catching up and laughing. Lord, I’ve missed London and the hilarious-ness that surrounds conversations with Smokes! 🙂  Til tomorrow!

"Please mind the gap between the train and the platform."

Leave a Reply

