Dressing for Travel

It never fails to amaze me about what I see while traveling through airports.  Currently, I am sitting at my departure gate, awaiting my flight to Montreal, where I will then proceed to my beloved city, London.  As with all international flights, I arrived 3 hours early.  There are those who dread the idea of getting to the airport so early, imagining the time they will have to pass sitting around, among a slew of other strangers; however, I don’t mind it so much seeing as it almost always allows me enough time and opportunity to “people watch” or observe others in their actions, mannerisms, and my personal favorite, way of dress.

While style and dress are different for everybody, with good reason, there are a few things I will never seem to understand about the clothing some choose to wear while traveling.  Without a doubt, I am against the idea of wearing pajamas in public.  Yes, I understand they are comfortable and I can see the appeal of wanting to wear them when you will be sitting for long periods of time, but let us clear one thing up.  You do realize that you are outside the privacy of your home and bedroom, don’t you?  If you are hoping the Harry Potter invisibility cloak you just purchased at Disney World is working, I’m sad to tell you that it is, in fact, not.  And I beg of you please, never-ever-ever, wear those pajama pants with Hello Kitty or Corona all over them outside where anyone other than your significant other or perhaps best friend can see them! Soak in the truthful words stated by the most influential woman in fashion history, Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel, when she said, “I don’t understand how a woman can leave the house without fixing herself up a little – if only out of politeness. And then, you never know, maybe that’s the day she has a date with destiny. And it’s best to be as pretty as possible for destiny.” Opportunities can happen at any moment so I find it’s best to be presentable no matter what your situation.

Dressing presentable in an airport setting doesn’t necessarily mean that you need to be in a suit or professional dress.  Items I love for travel include such things as Ponte pants, fitted or oversized sweaters, wraps, flats, casual dresses, and boots.  Ponte pants as we know, are super comfortable because they are breathable and allow for ease of movement while retaining their original shape.  Depending on what bottom you choose to wear, fitted and oversized sweaters are great pieces that are comfortable to wear without sacrificing style.  Just make sure to pair a fitted sweater with your denim and keep oversized sweaters with a tighter legging so you don’t look frumpy.  Don’t care for sweaters? Not a problem.  Wraps are great for traveling because while they are classy looking, they double as your own personal blanket during the flight so you don’t have to use the community, germ filled, blankets.  I love wearing casual dresses while traveling because they don’t constrict you and always look good. The key here is to make sure your dress is made of a fabric that doesn’t wrinkle easily and is comfortable to the skin such as jersey cotton.  In terms of footwear, flats and boots are great options because they are so easy to slip on and off while going through security.  An added bonus to opt for wearing your tall boots…it opens up more room in your suitcase for other item to pack or in my case, bring back from your destination.

Dressing for travel is all about comfort and being practical. While I have been thoroughly entertained with good and bad display of dress at the airport, remember that there are other options for comfort besides your at-home loungewear.  Please be polite (as Coco would say) and dress appropriately for public and if nothing else, earrings and a necklace can step up any outfit! Reporting to you fashion lovers next week from one of the largest fashion capitols of the world, I look forward to letting you know what’s happening in London!

Oversized sweater

Tall & stylish riding boot

One response

Leave a Reply

