Where There’s A Will, There’s A Way

There is, at one point each year, a trend that appears, or in fact, re-appears again after a number of years, that I – let’s not say despise – but don’t possess the strongest feelings for.  This year, that look would be wide legged and bell bottomed denim.  Maybe my dislike for the season’s latest pant is because my mind automatically flashes back to my middle school days of poor dress, sporting tight bell bottoms I thought were so cool.  Be not mistaken, it is not that I find those particular cuts of pant to be ugly or even unfashionable, but is merely my sorrowful selfishness wishing I could pull the look off. 

Jason Wu

 

(L) Christian Dior (R) Derek Lam

As a 5’6”, apple body shape, I unfortunately did not inherit my mother’s “long as day” legs.  Therefore, adding excess fabric ,in terms of width, straight down from my non-existent hips does not make me appear long and lean but instead, short and frumpy.  Paired with my favorite gladiator sandal or comfortable flat and the look gets worse, adding the appearance of 10 extra pounds to my thighs and rear. Yikes!

I understand, quite well, how there are some trends, in which, are simply not made for everyone; however, I refuse to throw up the white flag and surrender before trying this problematic look, for me, on over and over again in front of my mirror, paired with every possible option to keep me from returning it from returning to the sad store, re-joining the rest of the other clothing orphans.

Designer, Stella McCartney

 

Olsen twins wearing the wide leg trouser well.

Voilà! In steps in my fashion dilemma savior – the heel!  While I did not inherit my mother’s long legs, I did get passed onto me my father’s weak ankles.  Its unfair how that seems to work out sometimes, isn’t it?  Needless to say, my type of heel isn’t typically the 5” skinny stiletto.  I am still trying to repress those awfully embarrassing memories of falling on my bum in public and constantly find myself, instead, bursting out laughing whenever they come to mind.  Learning what works best for me, wedges and chunky soled sandals have become friends of mine.  The beauty of the wedge is how it allows your weight to be more evenly distributed over the entire sole, giving a greater comfort level that you can appreciate and wear for longer periods of time (along with the added bonus of better stability and fewer cringing memories). Chunky heels and wedges have been all over the fashion runways in Paris, Milan, and New York from Yves Saint Laurent’s golden goddess-like wedges to Stella McCartney’s nature-esque wooden heel sandals.  Channel your personal style as to which one works best for you.

Yves Saint Laurent

As soon as I slipped some height-helping wedges on, my hated look took another perspective.  Now, my legs didn’t transform and look like Giselle’s (they’re not magical shoes, people); however, they helped better proportion the pants shape to my overall build.  It is little tricks like these that Stacey and Clinton try to show and teach their “fashion victims” on their popular show, What Not to Wear, and there are tricks out there for every body type.

While this trend remains to not be my favorite by far, I have found a way to make it work – all while adding in another “it” piece of the season.  To think a few years ago I winced at the idea of squeezing into a pair of skinny jeans and now I cannot fathom the idea of a day without them.  It is completely up to you whether or not you feel comfortable and choose to participate in any season’s given looks, but I urge you to explore, experiment, and create.  What is life without a few fashion risks anyways?  Fads and trends will come and go, yet style will forever cease to fade.

Leave a Reply

